Updated Winter Weather Advisory

 

The National Weather Service has updated the Winter Weather Advisory issued today through tomorrow morning.

URGENT – WINTER WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE NORTHERN INDIANA
641 AM EST FRI JAN 20 2012

…SIGNIFICANT SNOW ACCUMULATIONS AGAIN TODAY AND TONIGHT…

.AN UPPER LEVEL DISTURBANCE WILL MOVE RAPIDLY EAST FROM THE HIGH PLAINS THIS MORNING TO THE LOWER GREAT LAKES AND OHIO VALLEY TONIGHT. SNOW AHEAD OF THIS SYSTEM WILL OVERSPREAD SOUTHWEST LOWER MICHIGAN AND NORTHWEST INDIANA THIS MORNING… AND THEN ACROSS THE REMAINDER OF SOUTHERN LOWER MICHIGAN… NORTHEAST INDIANA…AND NORTHWEST OHIO THIS AFTERNOON. SNOW WILL CONTINUE INTO THE EVENING BEFORE DIMINISHING LATE TONIGHT. THE HEAVIEST SNOW IS EXPECTED FROM MID AFTERNOON THROUGH THIS EVENING. STORM TOTAL SNOWFALL ACCUMULATIONS OF 3 TO 7 INCHES ARE EXPECTED ACROSS THE AREA BY LATE TONIGHT.

…WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 10 AM EST /9 AM CST/ THIS MORNING TO 7 AM EST /6 AM CST/ SATURDAY…

HAZARDOUS WEATHER…

* SNOW WILL OVERSPREAD NORTHWEST AND NORTH CENTRAL INDIANA AND SOUTHWEST LOWER MICHIGAN THIS MORNING…AND FAR NORTHEAST INDIANA AND NORTHWEST OHIO BY THIS AFTERNOON. THE HEAVIEST SNOW IS EXPECTED FROM THE MID AFTERNOON HOURS THROUGH THIS EVENING. STORM TOTAL SNOWFALL ACCUMULATIONS OF 4 TO 6 INCHES ARE EXPECTED BY LATE TONIGHT.

IMPACTS…

* ROADS WILL BECOME SNOW COVERED AND SLICK THIS AFTERNOON AND TONIGHT.

* PERIODS OF MODERATE TO OCCASIONALLY HEAVY SNOW WILL RESULT IN SIGNIFICANTLY REDUCED VISIBILITIES.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

A WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY FOR SNOW MEANS THAT PERIODS OF SNOW WILL CAUSE PRIMARILY TRAVEL DIFFICULTIES. BE PREPARED FOR SNOW
COVERED ROADS AND LIMITED VISIBILITIES…AND USE CAUTION WHILE DRIVING.

Pin It

Comments are closed.